Simplicity day

July 12 is the Day of Simplicity. To mark the occasion, we have put together a photo gallery with motifs from all over the world. Especially on journeys with light luggage and out into nature the most beautiful improvisations arise from simplicity and creativity. Henry David Thoreau (1817 – 1862), on whom the date goes back, recommends already in 1854 in his work, Walden or the life in the woods, the return to a simple life.

Der Abwasch trocknet auf einem Bambusgestell in einem Camp auf Tiwai-Island, Sierra Leone / © Foto: Georg Berg
Dishes dry on a bamboo rack at a camp on Tiwai Island, Sierra Leone / © Photo: Georg Berg

Simplicity is considered desirable when as much as possible can be achieved with as few means as possible. It is then synonymous with minimalism, clarity or simplicity. In the USA, National Simplicity Day is always celebrated on July 12. One might dismiss this day as one of the many curious holidays such as Jell-O Day or Speak-Like-A-Pirate Day, but looking at its origins, National Simplicity Day seems highly topical. The date, July 12, refers to the birthday of U.S. writer and philosopher Henry David Thoreau in 1817. His essay “Walden” is centrally about gaining insight and quality of life by returning to a simple way of life. A longing that has gripped many, after two years of Corona pandemic and the. Thoreau spent two years in a log cabin on the lake and there wrote the essay for which he is known today. Even then, he wanted to escape the growing industrialization in his country and propagated in his writings the simple life in and with nature.

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

Wait a minute! Photos on Tellerrand-Stories

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

Permalink of the original version in German: https://tellerrandstories.de/tag-der-einfachheit

Moment mal!

Tag der Einfachheit

Am 12. Juli ist der Tag der Einfachheit. Aus diesem Anlass haben wir eine Fotogalerie zusammengestellt mit Motiven aus aller Welt. Besonders auf Reisen mit leichtem Gepäck und raus in die Natur entstehen aus Einfachheit und Kreativität die schönsten Improvisationen. Henry David Thoreau (1817 – 1862), auf den das Datum zurückgeht, empfiehlt schon 1854 in seinem Werk, Walden oder das Leben in den Wäldern, die Rückbesinnung auf ein einfaches Leben.

Der Abwasch trocknet auf einem Bambusgestell in einem Camp auf Tiwai-Island, Sierra Leone / © Foto: Georg Berg
Der Abwasch trocknet auf einem Bambusgestell in einem Camp auf Tiwai-Island, Sierra Leone / © Foto: Georg Berg

Einfachheit gilt als erstrebenswert, wenn mit wenigen Mitteln möglichst viel erreicht werden kann. Dann ist sie ein Synonym für Minimalismus, Klarheit oder Simplizität. In den USA wird der National Simplicity Day immer am 12. Juli gefeiert. Man könnte diesen Tag als einen der vielen kuriosen Feiertage wie den Wackelpudding-Tag oder den Sprich-wie ein Pirat-Tag abtun, doch schaut man auf seine Entstehung, erscheint der National Simplicity Day hochaktuell. Das Datum 12. Juli bezieht sich auf den Geburtstag des US-amerikanischen Schriftstellers und Philosophen Henry David Thoreau im Jahr 1817. In seinem Essay „Walden“ geht es zentral um den Gewinn von Erkenntnis und Lebensqualität durch Rückbesinnung auf eine einfache Lebensweise. Eine Sehnsucht die viele, nach zwei Jahren Corona-Pandemie und den erfasst hat. Thoreau verbrachte zwei Jahre in einer Blockhüte am See und schrieb dort das Essay, für das er heute bekannt ist. Schon damals wollte er der wachsenden Industrialisierung in seinem Land entfliehen und propagierte in seinen Schriften das einfache Leben in und mit der Natur.

Unsere Arbeitsweise zeichnet sich durch selbst erlebte, gut recherchierte Textarbeit und professionelle, lebendige Fotografie aus. Für alle Geschichten gilt, dass Reiseeindrücke und Fotos am selben Ort entstehen. So ergänzen und stützen die Fotos das Gelesene und tragen es weiter.

Nie mehr neue Tellerrand-Stories verpassen! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich alle Geschichten über den Tellerrand in Echtzeit abonnieren.

Permalink der Originalversion: https://tellerrandstories.de/tag-der-einfachheit
UkrainianGermanItalianSpanishJapaneseDutchPolishHungarianBulgarianTurkishIcelandic