Nature and monument

What all the monuments of this world have in common is their contribution to education. Without them, we would all return from a trip a little less educated. So there are enough reasons to compile a small selection on the occasion of the International Monument Day, which is celebrated every year on April 18. There are monuments that were created by nature and are revered by man as monuments. Some of them reach the status of a deity. For example, Mount Fuji in Japan. Fuji usually hides behind a veil of clouds and is therefore revered as a shy goddess in Japan.

Der Berg Fuji von Matsuzaki aus gesehen, Japan / © Foto: Georg Berg
Mount Fuji seen from Matsuzaki, Japan / © Photo: Georg Berg

A whole museum for a mountain

The city of Fujinomiya is even home to the Mount Fuji World Heritage Centre. The city is located at the foot of Mount Fuji in Shizuoka Prefecture. Fujinomiya is the city closest to the Bright Mountain of Japan. Only in a short window of time in the summer months is it possible to climb to the top of the 3,776 meter high and holy mountain of Japan. in all other months a visit to the museum remains.

Das Museum des heiligen Berges Fuji in Kakegawa, Japan / © Foto: Georg Berg
The Museum of the Holy Mountain Fuji in Kakegawa, Japan/ © Photo: Georg Berg

The rock fortress of Sigiriya in Sri Lanka is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. If you interpret the historical graffiti lying on the megaliths at the ascent correctly, it is probably one of the world’s oldest tourist attractions. After a steep and quite arduous climb, one is rewarded with a breathtaking view down from the rock fortress across the rice fields to a mountain range.

Atemberaubender Blick von der Felsenfestung Sigiriya über Reisfelder und in der Ferne liegende Gebirgszüge / © Foto: Georg Berg
Breathtaking view from the rock fortress Sigiriya over rice fields and mountain ranges in the distance / © Photo: Georg Berg

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

Our works are inspired by human encounters and always culinary discoveries. What format do you need? A newsworthy report, an entertaining reportage, a short travel tip or a picture gallery? At the international photo agency Alamy you will find a large selection of photos by Georg Berg on the subject of monuments and memorials. Clicking on one of the images below will take you directly to the agency image.

Permalink of the original version in German: https://tellerrandstories.de/natur-und-denkmal

Moment mal!

Natur und Denkmal

Gemeinsam ist allen Denkmälern dieser Welt ihr Beitrag zur Bildung. Ohne sie würden wir alle ein bisschen ungebildeter von einer Reise zurückkehren. Es gibt also genug Gründe anlässlich des Internationalen Tag des Denkmals, der jedes Jahr am 18. April begangen wird, eine kleine Auswahl zusammenzustellen. Es gibt Denkmäler, die wurden von der Natur erschaffen und werden vom Menschen als Denkmal verehrt. Manche von ihnen erreichen den Status einer Gottheit. So zum Beispiel der Berg Fuji in Japan. Fuji versteckt sich meist hinter einem Wolkenschleier und wird deshalb in Japan als schüchterne Göttin verehrt.

Der Berg Fuji von Matsuzaki aus gesehen, Japan / © Foto: Georg Berg
Der Berg Fuji von Matsuzaki aus gesehen, Japan / © Foto: Georg Berg

Ein ganzes Museum für einen Berg

In der Stadt Fujinomiya steht sogar das Mount Fuji World Heritage Centre. Die Stadt liegt am Fuße des Mount Fuji in der Präfektur Shizuoka. Fujinomiya ist die Stadt, die am nächsten am Helligen Berg Japans liegt. Nur in einem kurzen Zeitfenster in den Sommermonaten ist es möglich, auf den 3.776 Meter hohen und heiligen Berg Japans zu steigen. in allen anderen Monaten bleibt ein Besuch im Museum.

Das Museum des heiligen Berges Fuji in Kakegawa, Japan / © Foto: Georg Berg
Das Museum des heiligen Berges Fuji in Kakegawa, Japan / © Foto: Georg Berg

Die Felsenfestung Sigiriya in Sri Lanka ist ein UNESCO-Weltkulturdenkmal. Wenn man die am Aufstieg auf den Megalithen liegenden historischen Graffiti richtig interpretiert, handelt es sich wohl um eine der weltweit ältesten Touristenattraktionen. Nach einem steilen und recht mühevollen Aufstieg wird man mit einem atemberaubenden Blick hinab von der Felsenfestung über die Reisfelder bis hin zu einem Gebirgszug belohnt.

Atemberaubender Blick von der Felsenfestung Sigiriya über Reisfelder und in der Ferne liegende Gebirgszüge / © Foto: Georg Berg
Atemberaubender Blick von der Felsenfestung Sigiriya über Reisfelder und in der Ferne liegende Gebirgszüge / © Foto: Georg Berg

Unsere Arbeitsweise zeichnet sich durch selbst erlebte, gut recherchierte Textarbeit und professionelle, lebendige Fotografie aus. Für alle Geschichten gilt, dass Reiseeindrücke und Fotos am selben Ort entstehen. So ergänzen und stützen die Fotos das Gelesene und tragen es weiter.

Nie mehr neue Tellerrand-Stories verpassen! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich alle Geschichten über den Tellerrand in Echtzeit abonnieren.

Unsere Arbeiten sind inspiriert durch menschliche Begegnungen und immer wieder kulinarische Entdeckungen. Welches Format benötigen Sie? Einen Bericht mit Nachrichtenwert, eine unterhaltsame Reportage, einen kurzen Reisetipp oder eine Bildergalerie? Bei der internationalen Fotoagentur Alamy finden Sie eine große Auswahl an Fotos von Georg Berg zum Thema Denkmal unf Monument. Der Klick auf eines der unten stehenden Bilder führt Sie direkt zum Agenturbild.

Permalink der Originalversion: https://tellerrandstories.de/natur-und-denkmal
UkrainianGermanItalianSpanishJapaneseDutchPolishHungarianBulgarianTurkishIcelandic