War and energy

In view of the war of extermination being waged by the Russian president in Ukraine, memories of former excitements are fading. But only at the beginning of February did the EU Commission, against massive opposition, classify not only nuclear energy but also natural gas as sustainable. And now this: nuclear power plants and research reactors are being attacked with missiles that we paid for with our energy consumption.

An der Flüssiggas-Verladestelle im Norden Australiens können die Hochseetankschiffe direkt gefüllt werden / © Foto: Georg Berg
At the liquefied natural gas loading point in northern Australia, ocean-going tankers can be filled directly / © Photo: Georg Berg

When I photographed the loading platform for liquefied natural gas from the air in Australia in 2018, I still found the idea of an energy-guzzling transport halfway around the world absurd. Financially, such a thing is actually much more expensive than using a pipeline between peaceful trading partners.

At second glance, trade independent of fixed pipelines frees us from extraneous dependencies. Energy purchases from totalitarian states support the unfortunate effectiveness of the unjust regimes there. That should be clear to everyone by now. Qatar is also anything but unproblematic, and Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan are currently no better alternatives in terms of human rights.

I would like to see a more comprehensive view from our politicians, one that avoids the lack of alternatives and now also reconsiders the taxonomy. Sourcing liquefied natural gas from the U.S. or even Australia does not have to be cheap, but it does offer sufficient trading scope at prices in line with the market. Government subsidies are not sustainable but only an apparent solution that does not require market forces to be imaginative.

Sustainable, also in terms of the environment, can only be to promote alternative energies such as photovoltaics and wind power and to drastically reduce the consumption of fossil fuels.

By the way, ships run more environmentally friendly with gas than with heavy oil. With the right design, gas tankers can utilize at least the same amount of energy themselves that would otherwise evaporate unnoticed on its way through pipelines.

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

Permalink of the original version in German: https://tellerrandstories.de/krieg-energie
Optimized by Optimole

Moment mal!

Krieg und Energie

Angesichts des Vernichtungskrieges, den der russische Präsident in der Ukraine führt, verblasst die Erinnerung an einstige Aufreger. Aber erst Anfang Februar hat die EU-Kommission gegen massiven Widerspruch neben der Kernenergie auch das Erdgas als nachhaltig eingestuft. Und nun das: Kernkraftwerke und Forschungsreaktoren werden mit Raketen angegriffen, die wir mit unserem Energieverbrauch bezahlt haben.

An der Flüssiggas-Verladestelle im Norden Australiens können die Hochseetankschiffe direkt gefüllt werden / © Foto: Georg Berg
An der Flüssiggas-Verladestelle im Norden Australiens können die Hochseetankschiffe direkt gefüllt werden / © Foto: Georg Berg

Als ich im Jahr 2018 in Australien, die Verladeplattform für verflüssigtes Erdgas aus der Luft fotografiert habe, fand ich den Gedanken eines energiefressenden Transportes um die halbe Welt noch absurd. Finanziell gesehen ist so etwas tatsächlich viel teurer, als die Benutzung einer Pipeline zwischen friedlichen Handelspartnern.

Auf den zweiten Blick befreit der Handel unabhängig von fest installierten Pipelines von sachfremden Abhängigkeiten. Energiebezug aus totalitären Staaten unterstützt die unselige Wirksamkeit der dortigen Unrechtsregime. Das dürfte jetzt ja jedem klar sein. Auch Katar ist alles andere als unproblematisch und Aserbaidschan, Kasachstan sowie Turkmenistan hinsichtlich der Menschenrechte zurzeit auch keine bessere Alternative.

Ich wünsche mir von unseren Politikern eine umfassendere Sichtweise, die Alternativlosigkeit vermeidet und jetzt auch hinsichtlich der Taxonomie noch einmal neu überlegt. Der Bezug von verflüssigtem Erdgas aus den USA oder sogar aus Australien muss nicht billig sein, bietet aber genügend Handelsspielraum zu marktgerechten Preisen. Staatliche Förderung ist nicht nachhaltig sondern nur eine scheinbare Lösung, die den Marktkräften keine Phantasie abverlangt.

Nachhaltig auch im Sinne der Umwelt, kann doch nur sein, alternative Energien wie Fotovoltaik und Windkraft zu fördern und den Verbrauch an fossilen Energien drastisch zu verringern.

Übrigens: Schiffe fahren mit Gas umweltfreundlicher als mit Schweröl. Bei entsprechender Bauweise können Gastanker mindestens dieselbe Menge an Energie selbst verwerten, die auf dem Weg durch Pipelines sonst unbemerkt verdunstet.

Hier klicken, um den Inhalt von Google Maps anzuzeigen.
Erfahre mehr in der Datenschutzerklärung von Google Maps.

Unsere Arbeitsweise zeichnet sich durch selbst erlebte, gut recherchierte Textarbeit und professionelle, lebendige Fotografie aus. Für alle Geschichten gilt, dass Reiseeindrücke und Fotos am selben Ort entstehen. So ergänzen und stützen die Fotos das Gelesene und tragen es weiter.

Nie mehr neue Tellerrand-Stories verpassen! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich alle Geschichten über den Tellerrand in Echtzeit abonnieren.

Permalink der Originalversion: https://tellerrandstories.de/krieg-energie
UkrainianGermanItalianSpanishJapaneseDutchPolishHungarianBulgarianTurkishIcelandic