Laugh in Translation

Japan has been open to tourists again since October 11, 2022. When we visited Shizuoka Prefecture in September 2019, we would not have thought it possible that we would be among the last foreigners traveling individually through the country for a long time and that our travel experiences would make it into the Shizuoka Shimbun, the evening newspaper of Shizuoka.

Übersetzung mit Witz
Translation with wit / © Photo: Georg Berg

In this photo, you can see Ms. Iyama and I already very routinely and visibly amused using a translation app to break down our language barrier. Three days before, we had parked our rented car in front of the hotel in search of a restaurant and a place to stay for the following day. Ryokan Izu Makiba parked. The fabric flags in front of the entrance were the only indicator for us that it could be a restaurant. A traveler leaving with suitcases gave us hope that it might be a traditional guesthouse, a ryokan, where we could find a room and meals. At this point, we felt quite Lost in Translation. We could not read signs, nor could we get anywhere with English. Fortunately, our dear travel acquaintance Noriko had prepared us for this situation. At the entrance of Ryokan Izu Makiba we held up a large sheet of paper. There, in most beautiful Japanese characters, was written. “How much is one night for two people”.

Mittels einer auf japanisch hingeschriebenen Frage nach einem freien Zimmer begann unser mehrtägiger Aufenthalt im Ryokan Izu Makiba. Denn auch auf englisch war eine Verständigung unmöglich. Bei der Abreise überreichte uns Hiroto mit einem Augenzwinkern ein schriftliches Gegenstück und einen Glücksbringer / © Foto: Georg Berg
Our stay of several days at the Ryokan Izu Makiba began with a question in Japanese for a free room. Even in English it was impossible to communicate. On departure, Hiroto presented us with a written counterpart and a lucky charm with a twinkle in his eye / © Photo: Georg Berg

Comforting rice balls and a promise

Our Japanese written counterpart brought us into a gesture-filled conversation with Hiroto and his mother. The first signals, however, were not very positive. Because dinner time was over and they couldn’t offer us a room either. The fact that we needed a place to stay for the next day anyway was much too complicated to communicate. So, with no prospect of a delicious Japanese menu, we must have looked quite down on them. We said our contrite goodbyes and returned to our car. No sooner were we seated than Ms. Iyama arrived with two bottles of cold green tea. What happened next is one of our fondest travel memories.

Change of perspective

At this point, the story is retold from Hiroto Iyama’s point of view. It is not quite as dramatic as in the film Rashomon, in which Japanese director Akira Kurosawa has an event told from four different perspectives. Thanks to Momoko Takii of Tourism Shizuoka, we are still in contact with Hiroto today. It is also thanks to Momoko that our travel experiences made it into a Japanese newspaper on the occasion of the lifting of the entry restriction in October 2022.

Based on my journal, I would like to put the story this way.

In the middle of long weekend, we have all rooms booked. There was new guests at the door saying “We are quite hungry and looking for some place to eat. Could we have lunch here?” There were English, German and lots of gestures. They had a sketchbook with expressions in Japanese and Germans. I answered with my poor English that we are not a restaurant but it seemed like they did not understand me. I used a translation app and told them that all restaurants around here are having a break between the lunch and dinner time.

They were about to return to their car…when this thought came to my mind.

“I do not want to let them wander hungry and uneasy!” So I asked Okami to keep them while I make rice balls. 10 minutes later I came back with rice balls (bonito flake, salmon, and Wakame seaweed), stewed ginger and English tourism brochure.

Half an hour later, they came back but I could not leave the kitchen to prepare dinner. There is only Okami who was able to talk to them. Then there comes our savior – another guest who can speak both English and German. They were already chatting at the entrance.

The couple says they enjoyed our Onigiri and would like to stay here.

We were fully booked so told them they could come back the next day.

They ended up staying with us for three nights and explored further in the area.

While they were here, we had a great time taking about local topics and Japanese food.

Hiroto Iyama, Izu Makiba
Screenshot der Konversation: Drückt man vor dem Sprechen die deutsche oder die japanische Fahne, folgt die Übersetzung in die andere Sprache schriftlich, in Lautschrift und auch akustisch / © Foto: Georg Berg
Screenshot of the conversation: If you press the German or Japanese flag before speaking, the translation into the other language follows in written form, in phonetic transcription and also acoustically.
Okami Iyama hat unsere Tellerrand-Story in japanischer Übersetzung ausgedruckt und mit dem Foto unterstrichen, dass unsere Begegnung auch bei ihr einen bleibend positiven Eindruck hinterlassen hat
Okami Iyama printed out our Tellerrand story in Japanese translation and underlined with the photo that our encounter left a lasting positive impression on her as well
Ichi-Ju-San-Sai. Ein traditionelles japanisches Frühstück besteht aus einer Misosuppe und vielen kleinen Gerichten / © Foto: Georg Berg
Ichi-ju-san-sai. A traditional Japanese breakfast consists of miso soup and many small dishes / © Photo: Georg Berg

Mrs. Iyama and the best miso soup

Already after the first breakfast in the Ryokan Izu Makiba it was clear to me: Here they serve by far the best miso soup I had eaten in Japan until then. Since Ms. Iyama and I were meanwhile having great fun serving the translation app, I immediately asked her if she could show me how to make her soup the next morning. Miso-Shiru – from the happiness of a warm soup.

Katsuobushi, bei uns bekannt als Bonitoflocken, sorgen für die Geschmackstiefe der Misosuppe / © Foto: Georg Berg
Katsuobushi, known to us as bonito flakes, provide the depth of flavor in miso soup / © Photo: Georg Berg.

If it had been up to the translation app, Ms. Iyama in the picture above would not have thrown katsuobushi into the cooking pot, but cats.

This story has triggered a long discussion in Japan on Facebook, which probably comes across as difficult to understand due to the automatic translation. However, we have an inkling through our encounter how it is meant.

Permalink of the original version in German: https://tellerrandstories.de/japan-laugh-translation

Moment mal!

Laugh in Translation

Seit dem 11. Oktober 2022 ist Japan wieder für Touristen geöffnet. Als wir im September 2019 die Präfektur Shizuoka besuchten, hätten wir es nicht für möglich gehalten, dass wir für lange Zeit zu den letzten individuell durch das Land reisenden Ausländern gehören würden und es unsere Reiseerlebnisse bis in die Shizuoka Shimbun, die Abendzeitung von Shizuoka schaffen würden.

Übersetzung mit Witz
Übersetzung mit Witz / © Foto: Georg Berg

Auf diesem Foto sieht man Frau Iyama und mich schon sehr routiniert und sichtlich erheitert eine Übersetzungs-App zum Abbau unserer Sprachbarriere nutzen. Drei Tage zuvor hatten wir auf der Suche nach einem Restaurant und eine Übernachtungsgelegenheit für den Folgetag unser Mietauto vor dem Ryokan Izu Makiba geparkt. Die Stofffahnen vor dem Eingang waren für uns der einzige Indikator, dass es sich um ein Restaurant handeln könnte. Ein Reisender, der mit Koffer das Haus verlies, machte uns Hoffnung, es könnte sich um ein traditionelles Gästehaus, ein Ryokan, handeln, in dem wir ein Zimmer und Verpflegung finden könnten. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt fühlten wir uns ziemlich Lost in Translation. Wir konnten weder Hinweisschilder lesen, noch kamen wir mit Englisch weiter. Auf diese Situation hatte uns unsere liebe Reisebekanntschaft Noriko zum Glück vorbereitet. Am Eingang von Ryokan Izu Makiba hielten wir ein großes Blatt in die Höhe. Dort stand in schönsten japanischen Schriftzeichen. “Wieviel kostet eine Übernachtung für zwei Personen”

Mittels einer auf japanisch hingeschriebenen Frage nach einem freien Zimmer begann unser mehrtägiger Aufenthalt im Ryokan Izu Makiba. Denn auch auf englisch war eine Verständigung unmöglich. Bei der Abreise überreichte uns Hiroto mit einem Augenzwinkern ein schriftliches Gegenstück und einen Glücksbringer / © Foto: Georg Berg
Mittels einer auf japanisch hingeschriebenen Frage nach einem freien Zimmer begann unser mehrtägiger Aufenthalt im Ryokan Izu Makiba. Denn auch auf englisch war eine Verständigung unmöglich. Bei der Abreise überreichte uns Hiroto mit einem Augenzwinkern ein schriftliches Gegenstück und einen Glücksbringer / © Foto: Georg Berg

Tröstende Reisbällchen und ein Versprechen

Unser japanisches Schriftstück brachte uns mit Hiroto und seiner Mutter in ein gestenreiches Gespräch. Die ersten Signale waren allerdings nicht sehr positiv. Denn die Essenszeit war vorbei und ein Zimmer konnten sie uns auch nicht anbieten. Dass wir sowieso erst eine Unterkunft für den kommenden Tag brauchten, war viel zu kompliziert zu kommunizieren. So mussten wir, ohne Aussicht auf ein leckeres japanisches Menü, auf die beiden recht niedergeschlagen gewirkt haben. Wir verabschiedeten uns zerknirscht und kehrten zu unserem Auto zurück. Kaum saßen wir, kam Frau Iyama mit zwei Flaschen kaltem Grüntee. Was nun geschah, gehört zu unseren schönsten Reiseerinnerungen.

Perspektivwechsel

An dieser Stelle wird die Geschichte aus der Sicht von Hiroto Iyama weitererzählt. Sie ist nicht ganz so dramatisch wie im Film Rashomon, in dem der japanische Regisseur Akira Kurosawa ein Ereignis aus vier verschiedenen Perspektiven erzählen lässt. Dank Momoko Takii von Tourism Shizuoka haben wir bis heute Kontakt zu Hiroto. Momoko ist es auch zu verdanken, dass unsere Reiseerfahrungen es anlässlich der Aufhebung der Einreisebeschränkung im Oktober 2022 in eine japanische Zeitung geschafft haben.

Based on my journal, I would like to put the story this way.

In the middle of long weekend, we have all rooms booked. There was new guests at the door saying “We are quite hungry and looking for some place to eat. Could we have lunch here?” There were English, German and lots of gestures. They had a sketchbook with expressions in Japanese and Germans. I answered with my poor English that we are not a restaurant but it seemed like they did not understand me. I used a translation app and told them that all restaurants around here are having a break between the lunch and dinner time.

They were about to return to their car…when this thought came to my mind.

“I do not want to let them wander hungry and uneasy!” So I asked Okami to keep them while I make rice balls. 10 minutes later I came back with rice balls (bonito flake, salmon, and Wakame seaweed), stewed ginger and English tourism brochure. 

Half an hour later, they came back but I could not leave the kitchen to prepare dinner. There is only Okami who was able to talk to them. Then there comes our savior – another guest who can speak both English and German. They were already chatting at the entrance.

The couple says they enjoyed our Onigiri and would like to stay here.

We were fully booked so told them they could come back the next day.

They ended up staying with us for three nights and explored further in the area.

While they were here, we had a great time taking about local topics and Japanese food.

 

Hiroto Iyama, Izu Makiba
Screenshot der Konversation: Drückt man vor dem Sprechen die deutsche oder die japanische Fahne, folgt die Übersetzung in die andere Sprache schriftlich, in Lautschrift und auch akustisch / © Foto: Georg Berg
Screenshot der Konversation: Drückt man vor dem Sprechen die deutsche oder die japanische Fahne, folgt die Übersetzung in die andere Sprache schriftlich, in Lautschrift und auch akustisch
Okami Iyama hat unsere Tellerrand-Story in japanischer Übersetzung ausgedruckt und mit dem Foto unterstrichen, dass unsere Begegnung auch bei ihr einen bleibend positiven Eindruck hinterlassen hat
Okami Iyama hat unsere Tellerrand-Story in japanischer Übersetzung ausgedruckt und mit dem Foto unterstrichen, dass unsere Begegnung auch bei ihr einen bleibend positiven Eindruck hinterlassen hat
Ichi-Ju-San-Sai. Ein traditionelles japanisches Frühstück besteht aus einer Misosuppe und vielen kleinen Gerichten / © Foto: Georg Berg
Ichi-Ju-San-Sai. Ein traditionelles japanisches Frühstück besteht aus einer Misosuppe und vielen kleinen Gerichten / © Foto: Georg Berg

Frau Iyama und die beste Miso-Suppe

Schon nach dem ersten Frühstück im Ryokan Izu Makiba stand für mich fest: Hier wird die mit Abstand beste Misosuppe serviert, die ich bis dahin in Japan gegessen hatte. Da Frau Iyama und ich mittlerweile mit großem Spaß die Übersetzung-App bedienten, fragte ich sie umgehend, ob sie mir am nächsten Morgen die Zubereitung ihrer Suppe zeigen könne. Miso-Shiru – vom Glück einer warmen Suppe.

Katsuobushi, bei uns bekannt als Bonitoflocken, sorgen für die Geschmackstiefe der Misosuppe / © Foto: Georg Berg
Katsuobushi, bei uns bekannt als Bonitoflocken, sorgen für die Geschmackstiefe der Misosuppe / © Foto: Georg Berg

Wenn es nach der Übersetzungs-App gegangen wäre, dann hätte Frau Iyama auf dem Bild oben nicht Katsuobushi, sondern Katzen in den Kochtopf geworfen.

Diese Geschichte hat in Japan auf Facebook eine lange Diskussion ausgelöst, die durch die automatische Übersetzung wohl nur schwer verständlich rüberkommt. Wir ahnen durch unsere Begegnung aber, wie es gemeint ist.

Permalink der Originalversion: https://tellerrandstories.de/japan-laugh-translation
UkrainianGermanItalianSpanishJapaneseDutchPolishHungarianBulgarianTurkishIcelandic