Avatar of the Sorcerer's Apprentice / AI / © Georg Berg

The grim secret of the Tellerrand stories

I woke up from a terrible nightmare. In it, the authentic Tellerrand stories were just hallucinations of an artificial intelligence, and I was the celebrated sorcerer’s apprentice who is even proud of it [Watch the AI-generated video]

The old telephone booth in the Waldhaus is now a cell phone retreat for the benefit of all guests who want to use the lounges and many other places in the house to read, play, talk or think. Pleasant times when the telephone was located in its own booth and not in everyone's pocket / © Photo: Georg Berg

Phone booth for cell phone calls

Inspired by Nietzsche: Near St. Moritz, the Hotel Waldhaus offers an escape from modern chaos and the right amount of interaction and tranquillity. The Hotel Waldhaus, once a popular meeting place for famous personalities such as Hermann Hesse, Thomas Mann, Theodor Adorno and Elke Heidenreich, has found an interesting solution. Instead of allowing guests to use their cell phones everywhere, the hotel’s old telephone booths have been converted into special places where cell phones can be used

The Chronicle of Georgia is a monument visible from afar on Mount Kenisi near Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia. Created in 1985 by sculptor Zurab Zereteli, it is dedicated to the 3,000th anniversary of the state of Georgia and the 2,000th anniversary of Georgia's Christianization. It is little visited by tourists and locals / © Photo: Georg Berg

Georgia’s turbulent history

Persians, Mongols, Turks and Russians wanted to rule over Georgia, whose capital Tbilisi was completely destroyed 26 times. A visit to a self-confident country

Street art in Tbilisi, Georgia. Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin play chess while drinking Georgian wine / © Photo: Georg Berg

Political Street Art in Georgia

Walking through the Georgian capital of Tbilisi in 2023, one is struck by the many European, Ukrainian and Georgian flags, all conveying a clear message. The war in Ukraine is condemned as terrorism, for which Putin is responsible. The desire for Georgia to join the EU is also expressed. The political statements on the house walls are striking. Simple statements have the greatest persuasive power. Taken as a whole, they convey an unfiltered picture of the mood

Tail fin of a humpback whale. Numerous boats depart from Húsavík (Iceland) for whale watching. The highlight is the tail fin when the large mammals dive / © Photo: Georg Berg

Experience whales in Iceland

There is no whaling in Iceland anymore. Instead, whale watching is booming. The Whale Museum in Húsavík participates in the exploration of the gentle giants

Lützerath is occupied by climate activists. The previous owners have given up and sold their properties to RWE / © Photo: Georg Berg

The home and the climate

The small village of Lützerath rarely had more than 100 inhabitants. Thanks to climate activists, Lützi has become internationally known and a symbol. Several hundred places in the Rhenish lignite area have already fallen victim to the hunger for energy and the lignite excavators before

Austernplatte mit Meeresfrüchten im Strandpavillion Le St Pierre Tarbouriech. Hinter der Lagune liegt die Stadt Sète / © Foto: Georg Berg

Mediterranean oysters

Oysters are a popular appetizer in France. They are hardly filling, low in fat and carbohydrates, but contain many vitamins and minerals.

Price list at a market in Morocco / © Photo: Georg Berg

Parlez-vous Español, please

Review of the book by Françoise Hauser, in which she describes the differences and similarities of many world languages in an easily understandable way.

Permalink of the original version in German: https://tellerrandstories.de/author/georg
Optimized by Optimole

Avatar des Zauberlehrlings / KI / © Georg Berg

Das schreckliche Geheimnis der Tellerrand-Stories

Ich bin aus einem schrecklichen Albtraum aufgewacht. In ihm waren die authentischen Tellerrand-Stories nur Halluzinationen einer künstlichen Intelligenz, und ich war der gefeierte Zauberlehrling, der sogar stolz darauf ist [zum KI-generierten Video]

Die alte Telefonkabine im Waldhaus ist heute Handy-Rückzugsort zum Wohle aller Gäste, die die Salons und vielen anderen Plätze im Haus zum Lesen, Spielen, Reden oder Denken nutzen möchten. Angenehme Zeiten, als das Telefon in einer eigenen Kabine verortet war und nicht in jedermanns Hosentasche / © Foto: Georg Berg

Telefonzelle für Handygespräche

Von Nietzsche inspiriert: In der Nähe von St. Moritz bietet das Hotel Waldhaus eine Flucht aus dem modernen Chaos und das richtige Maß an Interaktion und Ruhe. Das Hotel Waldhaus, einst ein beliebter Treffpunkt für berühmte Persönlichkeiten wie Hermann Hesse, Thomas Mann, Theodor Adorno oder Elke Heidenreich, hat eine interessante Lösung gefunden. Anstatt den Gästen überall die Nutzung ihrer Handys zu gestatten, wurden die alten Telefonzellen des Hotels zu speziellen Orten umfunktioniert, an denen Mobiltelefone genutzt werden können

Die Chronik von Georgien ist ein weithin sichtbares Monument auf dem Berg Kenisi bei Tbilisi, der Hauptstadt Georgiens. Geschaffen wurde es 1985 vom Bildhauer Surab Zereteli und ist dem 3.000. Jahrestag des Staates Georgien sowie dem 2.000. Jahrestag Georgiens Christianisierung gewidmet. Von Touristen und Einheimischen ist sie nur wenig besucht / © Foto: Georg Berg

Georgiens bewegte Geschichte

Perser, Mongolen, Türken und Russen wollten über Georgien herrschen, dessen Hauptstadt Tiflis 26 Mal völlig zerstört wurde. Besuch in einem selbstbewussten Land

Straßenkunst in Tbilisi, Georgien. Donald Trump und Vladimir Putin spielen Schach und trinken dabei georgischen Wein / © Foto: Georg Berg

Politische Street Art in Georgien

Die Statements an den Hauswänden sind plakativ. Einfache Aussagen haben die größte Überzeugungskraft. In ihrer Gesamtheit vermitteln sie ein ungefiltertes Stimmungsbild

Schwanzflosse eines Buckelwals. Von Húsavík (Island) aus starten zahlreiche Boote zum Whalewatching. Höhepunkt ist die Heckflosse beim Abtauchen der großen Säugetiere / © Foto: Georg Berg

Wale in Island erleben

In Island gibt es keinen Walfang mehr. Stattdessen boomt das Whale Watching. Das Walmuseum in Húsavík beteiligt sich an der Erforschung der sanften Giganten

Lützerath ist von Klima-Aktivisten besetzt. Die Vorbesitzer haben aufgegeben und ihre Anwesen an RWE verkauft / © Foto: Georg Berg

Die Heimat und das Klima

Der kleine Ort Lützerath hatte selten mehr als 100 Einwohner. Lützi ist Dank der Klimaaktivisten international bekannt und zum Symbol geworden. Mehrere hundert Orte im rheinischen Braunkohlegebiet sind vorher schon dem Energiehunger und den Braunkohlebaggern zum Opfer gefallen

Austernplatte mit Meeresfrüchten im Strandpavillion Le St Pierre Tarbouriech. Hinter der Lagune liegt die Stadt Sète / © Foto: Georg Berg

Austern aus dem Mittelmeer

Austern sind in Frankreich eine beliebte Vorspeise. Sie sättigen kaum, sind arm an Fett und Kohlehydraten, enthalten dafür aber viele Vitamine und Mineralstoffe

Rollenverteilung im Hafen von Tombo Bay, Sierra Leone. Frauen warten auf die Fischer und ihren Fang. Der einzige Weiße auf diesem Bild: Christiano Ronaldo (CR7) isoliert von den Anderen gedruckt auf einem T-Shirt / © Foto: Georg Berg

Wimmelbild mit Cristiano Ronaldo

Nachdem das afrikanische Land Marokko im Viertelfinale der FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft gegen die Mannschaft Portugals weitergekommen ist, erinnere ich mich an ein Foto, das ich 2016 in Sierra Leone gemacht habe

Preisliste auf einem Markt in Marokko / © Foto: Georg Berg

Parlez-vous Español, please

Rezension des Buches von Françoise Hauser, in dem sie leicht verständlich die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten vieler Weltsprachen schildert

Permalink der Originalversion: https://tellerrandstories.de/author/georg
Optimized by Optimole