20 years of African Parks in Malawi

It stands like a memorial in the Majete Wildlife Reserve, the collage of countless guns and rifles that rangers have confiscated from poachers over the years. On August 29, 2023, the NGO African Parks will celebrate the 20th anniversary of its commitment to conservation and biodiversity in Malawi. The often homemade firearms are a danger to many endangered species, but often enough poachers also injure or kill themselves. Poaching is a complicated vicious cycle. Breaking it takes more than patrolling rangers.

Park Manager John Adendorff, Majete Wildlife Reserve, erklärt anhand von konfiszierten Waffen die Praktiken der Wilderer / © Foto: Georg Berg
Park Manager John Adendorff, Majete Wildlife Reserve, explains the poachers’ practices using confiscated weapons / © Photo: Georg Berg

When African Parks took over Majete Wildlife Reserve in 2003 in a public-private partnership with the Malawi Government Department of National Parks and Wildlife (DNPW), the poachers had hunted the park empty. Except for a few antelopes, there was no wildlife left and accordingly tourism was down. Bad times for species conservation and for the people in the villages around Majete. 2023 Majete Wildlife Reserve is a showcase project in Malawi.

On August 29, 2023, Majete Wildlife Reserve will celebrate its anniversary with Malawi government officials and representatives from African Parks. Park staff, supporters and residents of surrounding village communities are also invited. There are many successes to celebrate on this day. But there will also be a remembrance of a young ranger who died in the line of duty. A memorial stone will be erected for him on the grounds.

John Adendorff, Park Manager von African Parks im Majete Wildlife Reserve, Malawi bei einer Präsentation / © Foto: Georg Berg
John Adendorff, Park Manager of African Parks at Majete Wildlife Reserve, Malawi during a presentation / © Photo: Georg Berg

The most dangerous species

After the successful reintroduction of wildlife, Majete was for a long time the only place in Malawi where the Big Five could be observed. Today, 12,000 big game animals live in the park, including rhinos, elephants, leopards, cheetahs, lions, buffalo and giraffes. In 2021, a major milestone will be reached with the reintroduction of the wild dog, the last predator to be eradicated in the region. One of the greatest successes of the more than 40 rangers in the park, however, is that poaching of rhinos, elephants and other endangered species has been consistently halted since 2003. Nevertheless, the work of the game rangers remains dangerous. At the entrance to Majete Wildlife Reserve, there is an information center that provides information about the park’s population and biodiversity. There is also a wooden box hanging on the wall with a request to open the flap to see the most dangerous of all species. If you open the flap, you look into your own reflection. As recently as October 2022, a ranger was brutally killed by poachers in the park.

Strengthening communities

Successful park management is very complicated. It’s also about containing diseases like malaria, building schools, investing in children’s education, providing scholarships, and securing livelihoods for locals. In Majete and other national parks in Malawi, this has also been achieved by pushing back poachers and making the parks safer. With increasing biodiversity and improved security, tourism has also returned. Above all, employment opportunities have multiplied as a result. Particularly encouraging in the development of tourism, is also a significant increase in visitors from Malawi who want to see for themselves the return and successful reproduction of wildlife in their country.

Dagmar Mayer, Tierärztin im Majete Wildlife Reserve sowie Monitoring Manager bei der Vorbereitung eines Lion Calls / © Foto: Georg Berg
Dagmar Mayer, veterinarian at Majete Wildlife Reserve as well as monitoring manager preparing a lion call / © Photo: Georg Berg

On the road in Majete Wildlife Reserve

Park manager John Adendorff talks about the various strategies against poaching, the work of the rangers and monitoring teams as well as a mission with veterinarian Dagmar Mayer to put a lioness under anesthesia. To the reportage about nature conservation as a successful model in the Majete Wildlife Reserve.

An overview of all the stories about Malawi can be found on the country page Malawi. The landlocked country in Southeast Africa, which is also called the Warm Heart of Africa, is still considered an insider tip for Africa travelers. In regional comparison Malawi is a safe and peaceful country. The country’s landscape is dominated by Lake Malawi, the tenth largest lake in the world. In the total of five national parks, successful wildlife management has been practiced for several years and the biodiversity has increased enormously. Liwonde National Park and Majete Wildlife Reserve have been under the management of African Parks for 20 years. Thawale Lodge offers accommodation in the middle of the park. Nevertheless, the population of Malawi suffers from poverty. A controlled growth of tourism creates income opportunities in rural areas and improves the livelihood of families. The sustainable cultivation of tea and coffee, as on Satemwa Estate, or the reconstruction of banana farming in the country, also create important jobs. More information about tourism in Malawi.

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

The research trip was supported by the Ministry of Tourism in Malawi.

Our mode of operation is characterized by self-experienced, well-researched text work and professional, vivid photography. For all stories, travel impressions and photos are created in the same place. Thus, the photos complement and support what is read and carry it further.

Never miss new Tellerrand-Stories again! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren With the help of a feed reader, all stories about the Tellerrand (edge of the plate) can be subscribed to in real time.

Permalink of the original version in German: https://tellerrandstories.de/anniversary-africanparks-malawi
Optimized by Optimole

20 Jahre African Parks in Malawi

Wie ein Mahnmal steht sie im Majete Wildlife Reserve, die Collage aus unzähligen Gewehren und Büchsen, die Ranger im Laufe der Jahre bei Wilderern konfisziert haben. Am 29. August 2023 feiert die NGO African Parks den 20. Jahrestag ihres Engagements für Naturschutz und Artenvielfalt in Malawi. Die oft selbst gebastelten Schusswaffen sind eine Gefahr für viele bedrohte Tierarten, aber oft genug verletzen oder töten sich die Wilderer damit auch selbst. Wilderei ist ein komplizierter Teufelskreis. Um ihn zu durchbrechen, braucht es mehr als patrouillierende Ranger.

Park Manager John Adendorff, Majete Wildlife Reserve, erklärt anhand von konfiszierten Waffen die Praktiken der Wilderer / © Foto: Georg Berg
Park Manager John Adendorff, Majete Wildlife Reserve, erklärt anhand von konfiszierten Waffen die Praktiken der Wilderer / © Foto: Georg Berg

Als African Parks das Majete Wildreservat 2003 in einer Public Private Partnership mit dem Malawi Government Department of National Parks and Wildlife (DNPW) übernahm, war es fast leer gejagt. Bis auf ein paar Antilopen gab es keine Wildtiere mehr und dementsprechend lag auch der Tourismus am Boden. Schlechte Zeiten für den Artenschutz und für die Menschen in den Dörfern rund um Majete. 2023 ist das Majete Wildlife Reserve ein Vorzeigeprojekt in Malawi.

Am 29. August 2023 feiert das Majete Wildlife Reserve sein Jubiläum mit Regierungsvertretern von Malawi und Repräsentanten von African Parks. Parkmitarbeiter, Förderer und Bewohner der umliegenden Dorfgemeinschaften sind ebenfalls eingeladen. An diesem Tag gibt es viele Erfolge zu feiern. Aber es wird auch an einen jungen Ranger erinnert, der bei seinem Einsatz ums Leben kam. Für ihn wird auf dem Gelände ein Gedenkstein errichtet.

John Adendorff, Park Manager von African Parks im Majete Wildlife Reserve, Malawi bei einer Präsentation / © Foto: Georg Berg
John Adendorff, Park Manager von African Parks im Majete Wildlife Reserve, Malawi bei einer Präsentation / © Foto: Georg Berg

Die gefährlichste Spezies

Nach der erfolgreichen Wiederansiedlung von Wildtieren war Majete lange Zeit der einzige Ort in Malawi, an dem die Big Five beobachtet werden konnten. Heute leben 12.000 große Wildtiere im Park, darunter Nashörner, Elefanten, Leoparden, Geparden, Löwen, Büffel und Giraffen. Im Jahr 2021 wird mit der Wiederansiedlung des Wildhundes, des letzten in der Region ausgerotteten Raubtieres, ein wichtiger Meilenstein erreicht. Einer der größten Erfolge der mehr als 40 Ranger im Park ist jedoch, dass die Wilderei auf Nashörner, Elefanten und andere bedrohte Tierarten seit 2003 durchgängig gestoppt werden konnte. Dennoch bleibt die Arbeit der Wildhüter gefährlich. Am Eingang des Majete Wildlife Reserve gibt es ein Informationszentrum, das über den Bestand und die Artenvielfalt im Park informiert. Dort hängt auch ein Holzkasten an der Wand mit der Aufforderung, die Klappe zu öffnen, um die gefährlichste aller Arten zu sehen. Öffnet man die Klappe, blickt man in sein eigenes Spiegelbild. Erst im Oktober 2022 wurde im Park ein Ranger von Wilderern brutal getötet.

Communities stärken

Erfolgreiches Parkmanagement ist sehr kompliziert. Es geht auch darum, Krankheiten wie Malaria einzudämmen, Schulen zu bauen, in die Ausbildung der Kinder zu investieren, Stipendien zu vergeben und den Lebensunterhalt der Einheimischen zu sichern. In Majete und anderen Nationalparks in Malawi ist dies auch dadurch gelungen, dass Wilderer zurückgedrängt und die Parks sicherer geworden sind. Mit zunehmender Artenvielfalt und verbesserter Sicherheitslage kam auch der Tourismus zurück. Vor allem die Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten haben sich dadurch vervielfacht. Besonders erfreulich beim Aufbau des Tourismus, ist auch ein signifikanter Anstieg der Besucher aus Malawi, die die Rückkehr und erfolgreiche Vermehrung der Wildtiere in ihrem Land mit eigenen Augen sehen wollen.

Dagmar Mayer, Tierärztin im Majete Wildlife Reserve sowie Monitoring Manager bei der Vorbereitung eines Lion Calls / © Foto: Georg Berg
Dagmar Mayer, Tierärztin im Majete Wildlife Reserve sowie Monitoring Manager bei der Vorbereitung eines Lion Calls / © Foto: Georg Berg

Unterwegs im Majete Wildlife Reserve

Parkmanager John Adendorff über die vielfältigen Strategien gegen die Wilderei, die Arbeit der Ranger und Monitoring Teams sowie ein Einsatz mit Tierärztin Dagmar Mayer, bei dem eine Löwin in Narkose gelegt werden soll. Zur Reportage über Naturschutz als Erfolgsmodell im Majete Wildlife Reserve.

Die Übersicht aller Tellerrand-Stories über Malawi, gibt es auf der Länderseite Malawi. Der Binnenstaat in Südostafrika, der sich auch das Warme Herz Afrika’s nennt, gilt noch als Geheimtipp für Afrika-Reisende. Im regionalen Vergleich ist Malawi ein sicheres und friedliches Land. Das Land wird landschaftlich geprägt vom Malawisee, dem zehntgrößten See der Welt. In den insgesamt fünf Nationalparks wird seit einigen Jahren ein erfolgreiches Tiermanagement betrieben und die Artenvielfalt hat enorm zugenommen. Der Liwonde Nationalpark und das Majete Wildlife Reserve stehen seit 20 Jahren unter den Verwaltung von African Parks. Die Thawale Lodge bietet Unterkünfte mitten im Park. Gleichwohl leidet die Bevölkerung Malawis unter Armut. Ein kontrolliert wachsender Tourismus schafft auch im ländlichen Raum Einkommensmöglichkeiten und verbessert die Lebensgrundlage von Familien. Der nachhaltige Anbau von Tee und Kaffee wie auf Satemwa Estate oder der Wiederaufbau der Bananenzucht im Land, schaffen ebenfalls wichtige Arbeitsplätze. Mehr Informationen über den Tourismus in Malawi.

Unsere Arbeitsweise zeichnet sich durch selbst erlebte, gut recherchierte Textarbeit und professionelle, lebendige Fotografie aus. Für alle Geschichten gilt, dass Reiseeindrücke und Fotos am selben Ort entstehen. So ergänzen und stützen die Fotos das Gelesene und tragen es weiter.

Nie mehr neue Tellerrand-Stories verpassen! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich alle Geschichten über den Tellerrand in Echtzeit abonnieren.

Die Recherchereise wurde in Malawi vom Ministerium für Tourismus unterstützt

Moment mal! Fotos auf Tellerrand-Stories

Unsere Arbeitsweise zeichnet sich durch selbst erlebte, gut recherchierte Textarbeit und professionelle, lebendige Fotografie aus. Für alle Geschichten gilt, dass Reiseeindrücke und Fotos am selben Ort entstehen. So ergänzen und stützen die Fotos das Gelesene und tragen es weiter.

Nie mehr neue Tellerrand-Stories verpassen! Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich die Information über neue Blogartikel in Echtzeit abonnieren Mithilfe eines Feed-Readers lassen sich alle Geschichten über den Tellerrand in Echtzeit abonnieren.

Permalink der Originalversion: https://tellerrandstories.de/anniversary-africanparks-malawi
Optimized by Optimole